Winter Garden

A lack of time outdoors had me brainstorming about the windows I am using as cold frames. I have read articles about low hoop frames for cold season greens and I finally put one together on a 2×8 raised bed.

Hoop Gardening Trial

Some PEX pipe as the hoop frame, 6mil plastic sheeting, old chain link horizontal bars for weights, and twine with clamps to keep things in place.

I planted spinach, arugula, and carrots. The arugula will be the best adapted since I had a few stragglers from the autumn still growing out in the open.

I planted the same seeds in another bed with the windows to see if there is a difference in growth over the colder months.

Method Testing

Afterwards, a walk through the garden showed some color starting to return.

Mondo Grass and Sedums
Black Hellebores
Wedding Party Hellebores
More Hellebores

Leave a comment